Were You Charged With Assault And Battery?

At Maesen Law, PLC, our Grand Rapids assault and battery defense lawyer knows that being charged with hurting someone — or attempting to hurt someone — can have a significant impact on our clients’ futures.

When someone is charged with assault and battery in Michigan, the charges can quickly escalate from a misdemeanor to a felony based on allegations of a weapon being present, the degree of injury, and prior convictions.

While assault and battery charges are common, they can have an enormous impact on your life, resulting in significant penalties that may remain on your record going forward. Now is the time to hire an experienced assault and battery defense lawyer in Kent County who can help you effectively fight your charges.

Our law firm founder and lead criminal defense attorney, Ryan Maesen, provides our clients with the legal skill and resources they need to face their charges with confidence.

We understand the value of freedom, and the reality is, without a trusted legal advocate by your side, you are risking everything. And the reality is that you often can only get the justice you are willing to pay for it. It’s not an entitlement or a guarantee. It must be fought for, and when the stakes could not be higher, we produce real results.

Contact our skilled criminal defense attorney to learn more about how we fight for each of our client’s freedom and future.

What is Considered Assault and Battery in Michigan?

Although the terms “assault and battery” are often connected or used interchangeably, they are inherently two different actions. First, an assault may be an act that would cause a reasonable person to fear or apprehend an immediate battery, or an attempted battery.

Battery is the forceful, violent, or offensive touching of a person, or something closely connected with another person, against their will and intended to either commit a battery or make that person reasonably fear an immediate battery. It does not matter whether the touching caused an injury.

Legal definitions aside, if one person hits another person, tried to hit another person, or intentionally made another person think they were going to be hit, the offender may be charged with assault and battery.

What are the Penalties for Assault and Battery Charges in Michigan?

Like all criminal charges, the penalties will increase if the person who is accused of assault and battery has a criminal history of the same charges, used a weapon, or if the alleged crime resulted in severe injuries or death to the victim.

While each Michigan assault and battery charge and its penalties are unique to the accused, common consequences for convictions may include jail time, fines, community service, monthly reporting, and one or more forms of anger management counseling or classes.

Simple Assault/Assault & Battery

  • First Assault & Battery: Jail time of up to 93 days, a $500 fine, or both.
  • Second Assault & Battery: Jail time of up to one, a fine of up to $1,000.
  • Third or More Assault & Battery: Imprisonment up to five years, fines up to $5,000.

The felony charges related to injuring a police officer, public utility employee, emergency personnel, or other government officials vary and may include jail time ranging from five years up to 20 years, and fines beginning at $1,000 up to $20,000 depending on the severity of the crime.

Aggravated Assault

Aggravated Assault requires serious injuries to occur during the interaction, which is quantified by an injury that requires immediate medical treatment, causes disfigurement, impairs health, or impairs part of the body.

The maximum penalty for aggravated assault is one year in jail, a fine of $1,000, and court costs.

Assault with a Dangerous Weapon or Felony Assault

Assault with a Dangerous Weapon or Felony Assault requires proof that a dangerous weapon — defined as an object used in a way likely to cause serious injury — was used to commit the assault and/or battery. Dangerous weapons may include brass knuckles, clubs, flashlights, knives, or guns, to name a few.

The maximum penalty for assault with a dangerous weapon is up to four years in prison and fines up to $2,000 but can be increased if the offense happened in a school zone.

Assault by Strangulation

Assault by strangulation is battery that is intended to impede another person’s breathing by applying pressure to the throat or neck, or by blocking their nose or mouth.

Assault by strangulation is a felony and is punishable by up to ten years in prison and a fine of up to $5,000.

Assault with Intent to Murder

Assault With Intent to Murder is the result of the accused’s actions occurring with the intent to kill, without acting in defense.

The maximum penalty for Assault With Intent to Murder is life in prison.

No matter where you live or work in Michigan, our skilled criminal defense attorney in Grand Rapids understands that without your freedom, your future will be placed on hold indefinitely.

Our approach to producing real results for real people is unmistakable, and fully visible through our involvement in nearly 90 trials in just over 16 years.

Allow our trusted assault and battery attorney in Grand Rapids to put your case into perspective, starting with an initial consultation today.

Our hard work translates into wins that matter.

Maesen Law Produces Real Results for Real People Throughout Michigan

Our Grand Rapids assault and battery defense attorney is a respected and aggressive advocate who provides customized legal strategies that allow our clients to pursue real results, so they can move forward with confidence.

We fully believe in partnering with our clients by establishing we are the right fit for their case, and overall legal needs from the beginning. This allows us to provide end-to-end legal solutions using a tailored approach to produce results for each unique client and their criminal charges.

Contact our skilled Grand Rapids criminal defense lawyer today to learn more about your legal rights and options to pursue the best outcome for your case. We are available by phone 24 hours a day by calling 616-821-7691 or allow us to review your case via email to ensure each aspect is reviewed with the discretion and attention to detail you deserve.