In Need Of A DUI/OWI Attorney?
At Maesen Law, PLC, our Grand Rapids drunk driving defense lawyer knows that Michigan has several names for Driving Under the Influence (DUI), including Operating While Intoxicated (OWI), Operating While Visibly Impaired (OWVI), felony DUI, and Operating With Presence of Schedule 1 Drug or Cocaine (OWPD).
Even if this is your first arrest for DUI, a conviction can lead to severe consequences, including fines, driver’s license suspension or revocation, community service, counseling, drug and alcohol testing, and even jail or prison time. As new convictions accrue, or when the driver’s BAC is exceptionally high, the penalties for drunk driving convictions will substantially increase.
Our founder and lead DUI defense attorney in Kent County, Ryan Maesen, provides our clients with the legal skill and resources they need to face their charges with confidence backed by 16 years of practice in the criminal justice system, which includes extensive trial experience.
We understand the value of freedom, and the reality is, without a trusted legal advocate by your side, you are risking everything. Those facing serious DUI charges in Michigan often can only get the justice they are willing to pay for it. It is not an entitlement or a guarantee. It must be fought for, and when the stakes could not be higher, we produce real results.
Contact our skilled DUI criminal defense attorney today to understand the depth of your charges, and how they are going to impact your current livelihood and your future, so we can get to work on an assertive legal solution together.
What are the Penalties for a First Time DUI in Michigan?
At Maesen Law, PLC, our Grand Rapids drunk driving defense lawyer understands how frightening a first-time DUI charge can be. Whether you are a college student, blue-collar worker, or hold a professional license or degree, a DUI conviction can reshape your future.
A first-time DUI conviction in Michigan for having a BAC over .08 is a misdemeanor offense, with penalties that may include:
- Six points added to your driver’s license.
- Suspension of your driver’s license for 30 days, and then restriction of your license for 150 days.
- Community service for up to 360 hours.
- Fines of up to $500.
- Up to 93 days in jail.
DUI charges come with multiple personal and professional consequences, as most people who are arrested for drunk driving spend the night in jail, which can lead to unexcused absences from work, school, or other obligations that can immediately impact their livelihoods.
Even if this is your first DUI charge, you should contact our skilled drunk driving attorney in Grand Rapids as soon as you are able, so you can pursue the best outcome for your unique legal circumstances.
What are the Penalties for a Second or Subsequent DUI in Michigan?
A second OWI conviction in Michigan for being impaired or having a BAC over .08 is a serious misdemeanor.
The penalties for a second DUI conviction may include:
- Six points on your driver’s license.
- A minimum one-year driver’s license revocation, or a minimum of five years revocation if your license has been revoked within the preceding seven years.
- License plate confiscation.
- Vehicle immobilization or forfeiture.
- Community service for 30 to 90 days.
- Fines of up to $1,000.
- Mandatory minimum of five days in jail, with the potential to serve up to one year.
A third or subsequent DUI within a driver’s lifetime, or two or more convictions for certain other types of offenses, will result in felony charges, and may include the following penalties:
- Six points on your driver’s license
- Revocation of your driver’s license.
- Denial of your vehicle registration and confiscation of your license plate.
- Community service for up to 180 days.
- Fines of up to $5,000.
- Probation plus a jail sentence of 30 days to one year.
- A prison sentence of one to five years.
Michigan treats OWI charges more seriously when the driver’s BAC is .17 or higher, which results in an Unlawful Blood Alcohol Level change, also commonly known as “super drunk OWI.”
Whether you have been arrested once or multiple times for drunk driving in Michigan, you should never face the prosecutor’s office alone, or accept a “deal” without understanding your full legal rights and options. Contact our experienced DUI attorney in Grand Rapids today to learn how your charges will affect you now and going forward.
Our approach to producing real results for real people is unmistakable, and fully visible through our involvement in nearly 90 trials in just over 15 years. Allow our trusted criminal defense attorney in Grand Rapids to put your case into perspective, starting with an initial consultation today.
Our hard work translates into wins that matter.
Maesen Law Produces Real Results for Real People Throughout Michigan
Our Grand Rapids drunk driving defense lawyer is a respected and aggressive advocate who provides customized legal strategies that allow our clients to pursue real results, so they can move forward with confidence.
Contact our skilled criminal defense lawyer in Grand Rapids today to learn more about your legal rights and options to pursue the best outcome for your case. We are available by phone 24 hours a day by calling 616-821-7691 or allow us to review your case via email to ensure each aspect is reviewed with the discretion and attention to detail you deserve.