When The Stakes Are This High,
You Need A Real Defense

Weapon Charges Are Treated As Violent Crimes

Despite Michigan’s progressive gun laws, carrying a firearm is not permitted everywhere or by everyone. Violations are aggressively prosecuted. As a result, many citizens find themselves facing misdemeanor or even felony charges for possessing or transporting weapons despite having no bad intentions and posing no threat to public safety.

The law firm of Ryan Maesen Attorney at Law provides a knowledgeable and effective defense for those accused of gun crimes in Grand Rapids, West Michigan or anywhere in the state. I understand the implications for your freedom and your gun rights.

Arrested For A Firearm Offense In Michigan?

The most common types of weapons charges in Michigan include, but are not limited to:

  • Brandishing a firearm in public
  • Carrying a firearm in prohibited spaces, including school zones, churches, banks or courts
  • Felon in possession of a firearm
  • Illegal altercation of a firearm
  • Illegal possession of certain prohibited types of short-barreled firearms
  • Possession of a concealed weapon without a CPL (Concealed Pistol License)
  • Possession of a deadly weapon
  • Possession of a firearm while committing a felony
  • Unlawful discharge

Whether you are facing a concealed weapons accusation or criminal charges for illegally possessing a gun as a convicted felon, I have the experience to protect your rights and answer these charges with confidence.

I have successfully managed firearm cases in state and federal courts throughout Michigan, with notable results, including charges dismissed and charges reduced.

Understanding Michigan Gun Laws

In Michigan, it is legal for a person to openly carry a firearm in public with lawful intent if the firearm is not concealed. Gun owners may apply for a Concealed Pistol License (CPL), which allows Michigan residents to carry a gun in a concealed manner, which may include in a pocket, covered by clothing or in a closed space in their vehicles. Without this license, it is unlawful to conceal a weapon.

There are also multiple guidelines stating who cannot carry a firearm in Michigan, openly or concealed, and stringent laws regarding certain premises where guns cannot be carried at all.

Who Can Carry A Firearm In Michigan?

Michigan is a shall-issue state, where a license to purchase a pistol or a background check is required to buy a handgun. Gun licenses are issued at the local level by county clerks.

Only residents are allowed to purchase handguns, although nonresidents are permitted to purchase long guns. Michigan does not have a firearm registry, but all handgun sales require a pistol sales record form to be filed with the Michigan State Police.

Open carry is legal in Michigan only for residents that are at least 18 years old and who can legally possess a firearm, provided the gun is registered in their name.

Concealed carry is legal for residents with a Michigan Concealed Pistol License (CPL) and for nonresidents that are at least 21 years old and who have licenses/permits from their state of residency.

Who Cannot Carry A Firearm In Michigan?

Federal law establishes a national standard regarding individuals’ eligibility to acquire and possess firearms.

Under federal law, people are generally prohibited from purchasing or possessing firearms if they:

  • Have been convicted of a felony or some domestic violence misdemeanors.
  • Are subject to certain court orders related to domestic violence or a serious mental condition.

Michigan prohibits any person convicted of a felony or “specified felony” as defined under state law from possessing, using, transporting, selling, purchasing, carrying, shipping, receiving, or distributing a firearm or ammunition, if that person has not yet satisfied statutory requirements to restore his or her ability to own or possess a firearm, including serving any applicable sentence or conditions for parole, and paying any relevant fines.

Michigan also prohibits:

  • A handgun seller from knowingly selling a firearm or ammunition to such a person, or a person under indictment for a felony.
  • Issuance of a handgun purchase license to any person local law enforcement has probable cause to believe would be a threat to themselves or others or would commit a crime with the handgun.

The Value Of An Experienced Defense Lawyer

The Michigan laws and firearms provisions are lengthy and complex, particularly when considered with relevant federal firearms laws. Depending on your charges, a conviction can carry significant jail time, costly fines and court costs, loss of your gun ownership rights, loss of a professional license, damage to immigration status such as green card or visa revocation and even deportation, and a criminal record.

If you have been arrested on weapons charges in Michigan, contact my Grand Rapids office today for a free consultation. You can call Maesen Law 24/7 at 616-818-0011 or use the online form. I welcome gun cases in Kent, Allegan and Ottawa counties and statewide.